Here below are important facts and information related to Bihar.

  • December 12, 1911 Bihar and Orissa separation from Bengal was announced at Grand Darbar held at Delhi. New province established on April 1, 1912.
  • 1916 Patna high court come in existence and in year 1917 Patna University was established.
  • Elections held as per 1935 act, congress registers victory on 98 seats out of 152, But Mohammad Yunis of Independent party appointed as first Prime Minister ( then Chief Minister of province was called as Prime Minister) of Bihar.
  • Area wise Bihar is at 12th position; Bihar total area is 94163.00 Square Km. It has 2.86 per cent of India’s total area.
  • Average slope of plains of Bihar is 6 cm to 8 cm.

As per 2011 census:

  • Bihar ranks at first position in population density. It density is 1102 per Square Km while India’s density is 382 per Square Km.
  • Literacy rate in Bihar is 63.82 percent while national average is 74.04 percent.
  • Women literacy rate is 53.33 per cent in Bihar while national average is 65.46 per cent.
  • Bihar has lowest per capita income.
  • Major Himalayan rivers which flow through plains of Bihar are Ganaga, Ghaghara, Budhi Gandak, Baghmati, Koshi, Mahadanda, etc.
  • Major river flowing through the plateau region is Son, Karmasa, Poonpun, Falgu, Sakari, etc.
  • Bihar is the largest producer of Makhana. India’s 90 per cent Makhana is being produced in Bihar. Bihar is also the third largest producers of vegetables in India.
  • Bihar shares 13.6 per cent in total vegetable production across the country.
  • Barauni Oil Refinery in Bihar has been established with the help of Russia.
  • Bihar average height form sea level is 52.73 meters.
  • 16 members from Bihar are in Rajaya Sabha.
  • Bihar legislative council has total 75 members.
  • Bihar legislative assembly has 243 members.
  • Per capita electricity consumption in Bihar is 75 units while national average is 613 units.
  • Bihar has 9 Pramandal, 38 Districts, 101 Anumandals, 534 Blocks, 8463 Panchayats, 819 Police stations and 39 railway stations.
  • Bihar gives 40 MLA to Lok Sabha.
  • Bihar has 130 cities and 45098 villages.
  • Bihar has 1804.60 Square Km under the cities, 92358 Square Km under village.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s